Our purpose is to support owners in their use and maintenance of the Porsche 928 and to foster camaraderie among owners throughout the world.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Fuel pump question

Fuel pump question 04 Apr 2017 15:02 #19623

• new928
  • Junior Forum Member
Hello there. I'm brand new to the 928 family and have loved Porsche for as long as I can remember. That being said, I have zero experience with Porsche and the 928. I have only worked on VW bugs. This 928 seems quite a few notches above working on a bug. Anyway, It's a 1979, and has no service history. It's been off the road for 3 or 4 years the previous owner thinks. He got it from someone in his neighborhood but hasn't done anything with it. He's removed the fuel tank, cleaned it out but that's about it. I see that new in tank fuel pumps are pretty pricey. Are there any alternatives that people have used with success or should I plan for $600 - $800 for the in tank pump? I'm sure I'll be posting a few things. I'm looking forward to trying to get this car up and running again. When I get the car I'll post a picture.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fuel pump question 04 Apr 2017 20:23 #19624

• joejabq
  • Senior Forum Member
  • NOW ONLINE
Hi and welcome! I went through the same thinking process with my '79. Let me tell you what my strategy is./was. After talking to Roger at 928sRUs, I replaced the external fuel pump and put a filter in the tank instead of the internal pump. It was enough to get the car running so that I could keep working on it. I figured that I could always add the internal pump if I really need it. Roger says that this is a pretty standard approach with these older models.

Fuel pump question 04 Apr 2017 23:01 #19626

• new928
  • Junior Forum Member